Craig Johnson

Craig Johnson is the author of the Walt Longmire series featuring the laid-back sheriff of Absaroka County, Wyoming. The books have developed a growing respect and enjoyment among readers and the series has been turned into a hit A&E television series.

The books have been nominated for a range of literary awards both in the USA as well as overseas. They feature consistently great plotting, some spiritual understanding and a healthy dose of humor and each book tells a finely crafted story.

Craig Johnson Novels

Author website

Walt Longmire Series

  • The Cold Dish (2004)
  • Death Without Company (2006)
  • Kindness Goes Unpunished (2007)
  • Another Man's Moccasins (2008)
  • The Dark Horse (2009)
  • Junkyard Dogs (2010)
  • Hell Is Empty (2011)
  • As the Crow Flies (2012)
  • A Serpent's Tooth (2013)
  • The Spirit of Steamboat (2013)
  • Any Other Name (2014)
  • Wait For Signs: Twelve Longmire Stories (2014)
  • Dry Bones (2015)
  • An Obvious Fact (2016)

Sheriff Walt Longmire is not your average hardboiled leading man. Sure he's a big strong law enforcement officer but he is also careful and considered in everything that he does. He is also well over forty years of age. But he is highly effective and knows exactly what he's doing. The series is set in Wyoming and contains an eclectic cast of characters including his best friend Henry Standing Bear (often referred to as the Cheyenne Nation) as well as Under-Sheriff Vic Moretti.

The first book of the series is The Cold Dish and it was a finalist for the 2006 Dilys Award. The French version of the book took out Le Prix du Polar Nouvel Observateur/BibliObs.

In this first book, Walt Longmire has already been sheriff of Absaroka County for twenty-five years and he is planning on slipping quietly into retirement. However, his plans are dashed by the death of a young man near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Fearing it is an act of retribution for something the man did a couple of years earlier, Longmire decides he must investigate. In this debut novel we are introduced to the wild and desolate Wyoming countryside as well as some of the regular characters of the series such as Henry Standing Bear and Deputy Victoria Moretti. We also get a good feel for the easy humor and laidback approach of the sheriff.​

Walt Longmire Series
Johnson The Cold DishThe Cold Dish (2004) Johnson Death Without CompanyDeath Without Company (2006)
Johnson Kindness Goes UnpunishedKindness Goes Unpunished (2007) Johnson Another Mans MoccasinsAnother Man’s Moccasins (2008)
Johnson The Dark HorseThe Dark Horse (2009) Johnson Junkyard DogsJunkyard Dogs (2010)
Johnson Hell Is EmptyHell Is Empty (2011) Johnson As the Crow FliesAs the Crow Flies (2012)
Johnson A Serpents ToothA Serpent’s Tooth (2013) Johnson Spirit of SteamboatSpirit of Steamboat (2013)
Johnson Any Other NameAny Other Name (2014) Johnson Wait For SignsWait For Signs:
Twelve Longmire Stories (2014) (SS)
Johnson Dry BonesDry Bones (2015) johnson-an-obvious-factAn Obvious Fact (2016)

Critical Acclaim

The Cold Dish - 2006 Finalist Dilys Award
The Dark Horse - 2010 Finalist Dilys Award
Junkyard Dogs – 2011 Left Coast Crime Watson Award
Hell Is Empty – 2012 Barry Award Best Novel
As the Crow Flies – 2013 Left Coast Crime Rocky Award