Darrell James

Darrell James has made an instant splash with the first three books in the Del Shannon mystery series. The books follow the exploits of a missing persons investigator who is based in Tucson, Arizona.

Darrell James' Novels

Author website

Del Shannon Series


James has written many short stories and the first to be published titled Lydia which was published in 2004 by Futures Mysterious Anthology Magazine. His first published book, Body Count, is a collection of 15 of his short stories and it picked up a Reviewers Choice Award and the Eric Hoffer Award for best new writing.

The Darrell James books are quality mystery novels that show a great deal of accomplishment. The plotting is clear and the stories are told in an edgy and dramatic fashion. They are exactly the type of thing most crime readers are looking for.

The first book in the series is Nazareth Child (2011) and is the winner of the 2012 Left Coast Crime Eureka! Award. It was also nominated for the 2012 Anthony Award for Best First Novel and Macavity Award for Best First Mystery.

​The follow up second book in the series, Sonora Crossing (2012) was nominated for the 2013 Left Coast Crime Rocky Award.

​The third book, Purgatory Key (2013) was nominated for the 2014 Anthony Award for Best Paperback, the Left Coast Crime Squid Award and the Shamus Award for Best Paperback.