Henry Chang

Henry Chang uses his background from the streets of New York's Chinatown for the setting of his detective series featuring NYPD detective Jack Yu. This series reads as more of a police procedural style than full hardboiled although it certainly has its moments of stark grit,  but the interesting aspects come from the insights into the Chinese-American subculture.

Praise for his books have come from notable publications such as the New York Times Book Review, the Boston Globe and the Washington Post.

Henry Chang Novels

Jack Yu Series
Chinatown Beat (2006) Year of the Dog (2008)
Red Jade (2010) Chang Death MoneyDeath Money (2014)