James Lee Burke

The enormous talent of James Lee Burke has been enjoyed by readers for many years with the Dave Robicheaux series providing the bulk of the entertainment. Set in Louisiana each book explores some of the lowest of life with a tremendous depth and takes the reader on a wonderful journey to come out the other side craving more.

There is also a great deal to like about the other two series featuring Billy Bob Holland, a former Texas Ranger, and Hack Holland, another series set in Texas but this time featuring a sheriff with a somewhat checkered past.

The James Lee Burke novels have been consistent in their ability to challenge the reader. They have also been consistent in their ability to earn award nominations and Black Cherry Blues and Cimarron Rose both won the coveted Edgar Award (1990 and 1998 respectively) while Sunset Limited took out the 1998 Gold Dagger Award.

James Lee Burke's Novels

Dave Robicheaux Series
The Neon Rain (1987) Heaven's Prisoners (1988)
Black Cherry Blues (1989) A Morning For Flamingos (1990)
A Stained White Radiance (1992) In the Electric Mist With
Confederate Dead (1993)
Dixie City Jam (1994) Burning Angel (1995)
Cadillac Jukebox (1996) Sunset Limited (1998)
Purple Cane Road (2000) Jolie Blon's Bounce (2002)
Last Car To Elysian Fields (2003) Crusader's Cross (2005)
Pegasus Descending (2006) The Tin Roof Blowdown (2007)
Swan Peak (2008) The Glass Rainbow (2010)
Creole Belle (2012)
Billy Bob Holland Series
Cimarron Rose (1997) Heartwood (1999)
Bitterroot (2001) In the Moon of Red Ponies (2004)
Hack Holland Series
Lay Down My Sword and Shield (1971) Rain Gods (2009)
Feast Day of Fools (2011)
Non Series
Half of Paradise (1965) To the Bright and Shining Sun (1970)
Two For Texas (1982) The Convict and Other Stories (1985)
The Lost Get-Back Boogie (1986) White Doves At Morning (2002)
Jesus Out To Sea (2007)