M.J. Trow Book List

Lestrade Series

The series features 19th century Scotland Yard inspector Sholto Joseph Lestrade

The Adventures of Inspector Lestrade (1985) APA: The Supreme Adventure of Inspector Lestrade (1985)
Brigade: The Further Adventures of Lestrade (1986)
Lestrade and the Hallowed House (1987)
Lestrade and the Leviathan (1987)
Lestrade and the Brother of Death (1988)
Lestrade and the Ripper (1988)
Lestrade and the Guardian Angel (1990)
Lestrade and the Deadly Game (1990)
Lestrade and the Gift of the Prince (1991)
Lestrade and the Magpie (1991)
Lestrade and the Dead Man’s Hand (1992)
Lestrade and the Sign of Nine (1992)
Lestrade and the Sawdust Ring (1993)
Lestrade and the Mirror of Murder (1993)
Lestrade and the Kiss of Horus (1995)
Lestrade and the Devil’s Own (1996)
Lestrade and the Giant Rat of Sumatra (2014)

Peter Maxwell Series

Peter Maxwell is a widowed teacher who prides himself on his eccentricity.

Maxwell’s House (1994)
Maxwell’s Flame (1995)
Maxwell’s Movie (1998)
Maxwell’s War (1999)
Maxwell’s Ride (2000)
Maxwell’s Curse (2000)
Maxwell’s Reunion (2001)
Maxwell’s Match (2002)
Maxwell’s Inspection (2003)
Maxwell’s Grave (2004)
Maxwell’s Mask (2005)
Maxwell’s Point (2007)
Maxwell’s Chain (2008)
Maxwell’s Revenge (2009)
Maxwell’s Retirement (2010)
Maxwell’s Island (2011)
Maxwell’s Crossing (2012)
Maxwell’s Return (2014)

Kit Marlowe Series

The series features Shakespeare contemporary Kit Marlowe when he was still in his youth during Elizabethan times

Dark Entry (2011)
Silent Court (2012)
Witch Hammer (2012)
Scorpions’ Nest (2013)
Crimson Rose (2013)
Traitor’s Storm (2014)
Secret World (2015)
Eleventh Hour (2017)
Queen’s Progress (2018)
Black Death (2019)

Grand & Batchelor Series

This series is set in Victorian times and features Captain Matthew Grand who is a Union cavalry officer and James Batchelor who is a London journalist

The Blue and the Grey (2015)
The Circle (2016)
The Angel (2016)
The Island (2018)
The Ring (2019)
The Black Hills (2020)