Out of Range by C.J. Box

Book Details

Title: Out of Range
Author: C.J. Box
ISBN: 978-0-399-15291-1
Pages: 323 pp
Published Date: 2005
Publisher: Putnam
Sub-Genre: Thriller

This is the fifth book in the very entertaining Joe Pickett series about a Wyoming game warden whose job is increasingly overtaken by some of the most extreme circumstances. At the time of adding this entry the book has 34 customer reviews on Amazon.com and the star rating is at 4.5 stars.

Publisher's Synopsis

Joe Pickett is attempting to survive his mother-in-law's wedding to a wealthy local rancher when he receives some disturbing news: Will Jensen, a fellow Wyoming game warden and a good friend, has killed himself. And Joe's been picked to temporarily run Jensen's Teton district.

Jackson Hole is a far cry from Joe's hometown of Saddlestring -- it's the epicenter for many environmental extremists and an elite playground for the rich and powerful -- and Joe quickly finds himself over his head. Yet despite the pressures of his new job and his surprising and disturbing attraction for a married woman named Stella, he can't get his friend's suicide out of his mind. By all accounts, Will had changed in the last few months of his life, becoming violent and unpredictable.

Meanwhile, back at home, Marybeth is frightened by threatening phone calls and asks the outlaw falconer Nate Romanowski for assistance, not realizing she has opened the door to much more than help.

The closer Joe comes to the truth about Will's death, the more his own life begins to mirror Will's and spiral out of control -- and he realizes that if he's not careful, he may end up as Jackson's next victim.

OUT OF RANGE proves once again that C.J. Box is one of the most original and entertaining voices in mystery fiction in the most riveting and surprising Joe Pickett novel yet.

Other Books by C.J. Box

Joe Pickett Series

Open Season (2001)
Savage Run (2002)
Winterkill (2003)
Trophy Hunt (2004)
Out of Range (2005)
In Plain Sight (2006)
Free Fire (2007)
Blood Trail (2008)
Below Zero (2009)
Nowhere To Run (2010)
Cold Wind (2011)

Non-Series Books

Blue Heaven (2008)
Three Weeks To Say Goodbye (2009)
Back of Beyond (2011)