P.J. Parrish

P.J. Parrish is the pseudonym for the collaborative pair of sisters Kristy Montee and Kelly Nichols. The Louis Kincaid series has developed from its start in Mississippi where Kincaid was a cop before moving to Michigan and then finally to Florida where he works as a private investigator. Within the series was the introduction of female homicide detective Joe Frye and there has been an increasing presence from her to the point where the book A Thousand Bones features her. The books have earned a great deal of critical acclaim with numerous award wins among many nominations.

P.J. Parrish's Novels

Author website

Louis Kincaid Series
Parrish Dark of the MoonDark of the Moon (2000) Parrish Dead of WinterDead of Winter (2001)
Parrish Paint It BlackPaint It Black (2002) Parrish Thicker Than WaterThicker Than Water (2003)
Parrish Island of BonesIsland Of Bones (2004) Parrish The Killing RainA Killing Rain (2005)
Parrish An Unquiet GraveAn Unquiet Grave (2006) Parrish South of HellSouth of Hell (2008)
Parrish The Little DeathThe Little Death (2010) Parrish Heart of IceHeart of Ice (2013)
Joe Frye Series
Parrish A Thousand BonesA Thousand Bones (2007)
Non-Series Books
Parrish The Killing SongThe Killing Song (2011) Parrish Shes Not ThereShe's Not There (2015)

Critical Acclaim

Dead of Winter - 2002 Finalist Edgar Award, Finalist Anthony Award

Paint It Black - 2003 Finalist Shamus Award, Finalist Anthony Award

Thicker Than Water - 2004 Finalist Shamus Award, Finalist Anthony Award

Island of Bones - 2005 Finalist Shamus Award

A Killing Rain - 2006 Finalist Shamus Award

An Unquiet Grave - 2007 Winner Shamus Award, Winner Thriller Award

A Thousand Bones - 2008 Winner Anthony Award, Finalist Thriller Award

South of Hell - 2009 Winner Anthony Award

The Little Death - 2011 Finalist Shamus Award

Heart of Ice - 2014 Winner Shamus Award