Reed Farrel Coleman

Reed Farrel Coleman is the author of a couple of series with a definitive line distinguishing the first from the second. Interestingly, it is his second series featuring ex-cop private investigator Moe Prager that has really brought his name to prominence.

The 3rd book in the Moe Prager series is The James Deans and it was this book that picked up an Anthony, Shamus and Barry Award in 2006. It was also shortlisted for the Edgar and Macavity Awards. The next 2 novels in the series, Soul Patch and Empty Ever After also won the Shamus Award marking the Moe Prager series as an extraordinarily strong one and putting it on the must-read list of anyone who loves detective fiction.

Down towards the bottom of the page you will notice the Joe Serpe series listed. These books were written by Coleman under the pseudonym of Tony Spinosa.

Reed Farrel Coleman's Novels

Author Website

Dylan Klein Series
Life Goes Sleeping (1991) Little Easter (1993)
They Don't Play Stickball in Milwaukee (1996)


Moe Prager Series
Walking the Perfect Square (2002) Redemption Street (2004)
The James Deans (2005) Soul Patch (2007)
Empty Ever After (2008) Innocent Monster (2010)
Hurt Machine (2011) Coleman Onion StreetOnion Street (2013)
Coleman The Hollow GirlHollow Girl (2014)
Continuation of Robert B. Parker's Jesse Stone Series
Coleman Blind SpotRobert B. Parker’s Blind Spot (2014) Coleman The Devil WinsRobert B. Parker’s The Devil Wins (2015)
Non Series
(with Ken Bruen)
Tower (2009)


Joe Serpe Series
writing as Tony Spinosa
Hose Monkey (2006) The Fourth Victim (2008)