Robert Crais

Robert Crais Novels

Author website

Elvis Cole Series

  • The Monkey's Raincoat (1987)
  • Stalking the Angel (1989)
  • Lullaby Town (1992)
  • Free Fall (1993)
  • Voodoo River (1995)
  • Sunset Express (1996)
  • Indigo Slam (1997)
  • L.A. Requiem (1999)
  • The Last Detective (2003)
  • The Forgotten Man (2005)
  • The Watchman (2007)
  • Chasing Darkness (2008)
  • The First Rule (2010)
  • The Sentry (2011)
  • Taken (2012)
  • The Promise (2016)

Stand Alone

  • Demolition Angel (2000)
  • Hostage (2001)
  • The Two Minute Rule (2006)
  • Suspect (2013)

Robert Crais is the author of the extremely popular and successful Elvis Cole series. Cole is an LA private detective with a wise cracking habit and a formidable partner by the name of Joe Pike. You may take Cole for a smart mouth with little substance to him but this would be an absolute mistake and the further into the series you get the more you can appreciate the sense of responsibility he has for his clients. As for Joe Pike, well he is just one scary dude.

The series combines a well-balanced blend of humor, insightful detective work and fast-paced action. It is a combination that has ensured crime readers across different genres both enjoy the books and come back for more when each successive book is released.

​For those who would like to gauge the stories based on other authors, the Elvis Cole books may be considered to be the LA cousin to Dennis Lehane’s Kenzie & Gennaro series, Harlan Coben’s Myron Bolitar series and Robert B. Parker’s Spenser series. Fans of the Harry Bosch series (Michael Connelly) will also be interested to know that Bosch and Cole fleetingly cross paths from time to time.

The awards have been consistent throughout the course of the books starting with both an Anthony Award and a Macavity Award for Best First Novel for The Monkey's Raincoat. The book was also a finalist for the Edgar Award and the Shamus Award. Sunset Express won a Shamus Award for Best Novel and L.A. Requiem won the Dilys Award as well as becoming a Finalist for every other major crime award possible (Edgar, Anthony, Shamus, Macavity, Barry and the Hammett Prize). In 2008 The Watchman was awarded the Barry Award for Best Thriller.