Steve Hamilton

Steve Hamilton Novels

Author website

Alex McKnight Series

Nick Mason Series

Stand Alone

Steve Hamilton is the author of the Alex McKnight series that is set in Paradise, Michigan. He was once a Detroit police detective but is now a private investigator living in the small fictional town where all manner of dark and dangerous people seem drawn to. The series would have to be one of the finest examples of modern hardboiled crime fiction and it has earned numerous award nominations taking out the Edgar, Shamus, Barry and Steel Dagger awards. A run down of all of the various nominations and award wins have been provided below.

The Alex McKnight series has earned a lot of critical praise with the following highlights.

A Cold Day In Paradise won the Edgar Award and Shamus Award for Best First Novel, it was also a finalist for the Anthony Award and Barry Award. Winter of the Wolf Moon was a finalist for the 2001 Barry Award, North of Nowhere was a finalist for the 2003 Shamus, Anthony and Barry Awards, Blood Is the Sky was a finalist for the 2004 Shamus and Anthony Awards and A Stloen Season was a finalist for the 2007 Nero Award.

The two non-series books have also been very successful, particularly The Lock Artist which won the 2011 Barry Award for Best Novel, 2011 Steel Dagger Award and the 2011 Edgar Award for Best Mystery. The book was also a finalist for the Anthony and Dilys Awards as well as the Gold Dagger Award. The other stand-alone novel, Night Work was a finalist for the 2008 Gold Dagger Award.

Ice Run Steve Hamilton
The Second Life of Nick Mason by Steve Hamilton
Winter of the Wolf Moon by Steve Hamilton
A Stolen Season by Steve Hamilton
Exit Strategy by Steve Hamilton
The Hunting Wind by Steve Hamilton
Misery Bay by Steve Hamilton
Night Work by Steve Hamilton
North of Nowhere by Steve Hamilton
Die A Stranger by Steve Hamilton
Let It Burn by Steve Hamilton