The Ranger by Ace Atkins

The Ranger is the first book in the Quinn Colson series and it is set in Mississippi. It has more of a western feeling about it with a modern-day meanness to it.  Quinn has just returned home from a tour of duty in Afghanistan where he served as a US Army Ranger. He is back to attend the funeral of his uncle who died while serving as the sheriff. He winds up becoming the new sheriff and has to deal with the local crooks and meth dealers who appear set on corrupting the small community.

Book Details

Title: The Ranger
Author: Ace Atkins
ISBN: 042524749X
Pages: 368 pp
Published Date: 2011
Publisher: Berkley
Sub-Genre: Hardboiled
Main Characters: Quinn Colson

The Ranger is available at

The following is the lowest available price for the book on eBay and Amazon


This book is the first book in the series. The second book in the series is The Lost Ones.

To see all of his books visit the Ace Atkins page.