Timothy Hallinan

Timothy Hallinan has written 3 private investigator series that display an impressive range of ideas and settings. The first is the Simeon Grist series which introduces a very well educated but aging PI running to seed. His second series is about former travel writer Poke Rafferty who is living in Thailand and through some trying cicumstances begins doing some detective work. The most recent series introduces Junior Bender who is a burglar in Los Angeles who has developed a front as a private investigator. This series is a more light-hearted crime series.

You may notice that the books in the Simeon Grist appear to be listed out of order. This is because although Skin Deep was the third book to be released, it is actually the first book in the series and so has been listed to reflect this.

Timothy Hallinan Novels

Author website

Simeon Grist Series
Hallinan Skin DeepSkin Deep (1991) Hallinan The Four Last ThingsThe Four Last Things (1989)
Hallinan Everything But the SquealEverything But The Squeal (1990) Hallinan IncineratorIncinerator (1992)
Hallinan The Man With No TimeThe Man With No Time (1993) Hallinan The Bone PolisherThe Bone Polisher (1995)
Poke Rafferty Series
Hallinan A Nail Through the HeartA Nail Through the Heart (2007) Hallinan The Fourth WatcherThe Fourth Watcher (2008)
Hallinan Breathing WaterBreathing Water (2009) Hallinan The Queen of PatpongThe Queen of Patpong (2010)
Hallinan The Fear ArtistThe Fear Artist (2012) Hallinan For the DeadFor the Dead (2014)
Junior Bender Series
Hallinan CrashedCrashed (2010) Hallinan Little ElvisesLittle Elvises (2011)
Hallinan The Fame ThiefThe Fame Thief (2013) Hallinan Herbies GameHerbie's Game (2014)

Critical Acclaim

The Queen of Patpong - 2011 Finalist Edgar Award, Finalist Macavity Award
Little Elvises - 2014 Finalist Shamus Award
The Fame Thief - 2014 Finalist Lefty Award
Herbie’s Game - 2015 Left Award, Finalist Nero Award