Australian Authors

Alan Carter Book List


Alan was born in Sunderland in the UK and immigrated to Australia in 1991. He holds a degree in Communications Studies from Sunderland Polytechnic and now works as a television documentary director. Alan lives with his wife and son in Fremantle, WA. His first novel, Prime Cut, was shortlisted for Crime Writers’ Association Debut Dagger Award in 2010 and has been nominated for the 2011 Ned Kelly Award for Best First Fiction.

Cato Kwong series

Cato Kwong is a Detective Senior Sergeant in Western Australia in this police procedural series

Prime Cut (2011)
Getting Warmer (2014)
Bad Seed (2015)
Heaven Sent (2018)

Stand Alone

Marlborough Man (2017)
Doom Creek (2020)

Critical Acclaim 

Prime Cut:

  • Winner 2011 Ned Kelly Award For Best First Novel
  • Shortlisted 2010 CWA Debut Dagger

Marlborough Man:

  • Winner 2018 Ngaio Marsh Award for Best Crime Novel
  • Shortlisted 2018 Ned Kelly Award for Best Novel