Australian Authors

Andrew McGahan Book List


Andrew McGahan was born in Dalby, Queensland. His first novel Praise, published in 1992, was winner of The Australian/Vogel Literary Award. Since then his writing includes an award winning stage play (Bait) and the AFI award winning screenplay for the movie version of Praise. His second novel was the prequel 1988, published in 1995, and his third novel Last Drinks was published in 2000. It was shortlisted for multiple awards, including The Age Book of the Year and The Courier Mail Book of the Year, and won a Ned Kelly award for crime writing. His most recent book, The White Earth published in 2004, and won The Age Book of the Year, The Courier Mail Book of the Year Award and was shortlisted for the Queensland Premier's Literary Awards that same year. In 2005, The White Earth won the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for the South East Asia and South Pacific region.

Stand Alone

Last Drinks (2000)
Underground (2006)
The Rich Man's House (2019)


Praise (1992)
1988 (1998)
The White Earth (2004)
Wonders of a Godless World (2010)

Critical Acclaim

Last Drinks:

  • Winner 2001 Ned Kelly Award for Best First Crime Novel

The White Earth:

  • Winner 2005 Miles Franklin Literary Award
  • Winner 2005 Commonwealth Writers Prize, South East Asia and South Pacific Region, Best Book
  • Winner 2004 The Age Book of the Year
  • Winner 2004 Courier-Mail Book of the Year