Australian Authors

Dervla McTiernan Book List


Dervla McTiernan was born in County Cork, Ireland to a family of seven. She studied corporate law at the National University of Ireland, Galway and the Law Society of Ireland, and practiced as a lawyer for twelve years. Following the global financial crisis she moved with her family to Western Australia, where she now works for the Mental Health Commission.

Cormac Reilly series

Cormac Reilly is a police detective in Galway, Ireland

The Ruin (2018)
The Scholar (2019)
The Good Turn (2020)

Critical Acclaim

The Ruin:

  • Winner 2019 Ned Kelly Award for Best First Crime Novel
  • Winner 2019 Davitt Award for Best Adult Novel
  • Winner 2019 Barry Award for Best Paperback Original

The Scholar:

  • Winner 2020 Thriller Award for Best Paperback
  • Shortlisted 2020 Ned Kelly Award for Best Crime Novel