Australian Authors

Dorothy Johnston Book List


Dorothy Johnston is an Australian author of both crime and literary fiction. She has published novels, short stories and essays. Born in Geelong, Victoria, Australia, Johnston trained as a teacher at the University of Melbourne and later worked as a researcher in the education field. Of note to crime readers is Dorothy's crime trilogy featuring Sandra Mahoney starting with The Trojan Dog, which was joint winner of the 2001 ACT Book of the Year and won the Age Best of 2000 in the Crime section. Johnston's One For The Master (Wakefield Press 1997) and Ruth (1986) were short-listed for the Miles Franklin Award.

Sandra Mahoney series

Sandra Mahoney is a government clerk working in Canberra

The Trojan Dog (2000)
The White Tower (2003)
Eden (2007)
The Fourth Season (2013)

Sea-Change series

Constable Chris Blackie and his rookie recruit from Melbourne, Anthea Merritt, in the small Australian seaside Victoria town of Queenscliff

Through a Camel's Eye (2016)
The Swan Island Connection (2017)
Gerard Hardy's Misfortune (2019)

Stand Alone

The House At Number 10 (2005)


Tunnel Vision (1984)
Ruth (1986)
Maralinga, My Love (1988)
One for the Master (1997)

Critical Acclaim

The Trojan Dog:

  • Shortlisted 2000 Ned Kelly Award for Best First Crime Novel