Australian Authors

John Dale Book List


John Dale was born in Sydney but grew up in Tasmania. Since returning to Sydney he has spent time in the Attorney General's Department, taught writing at university and worked as a doorman. John Dale's first book, 'Dark Angel' won the Ned Kelly Award for Best First Crime Novel.

Stand Alone

Dark Angel (1996)
The Dogs Are Barking (1999)
Plenty (2013) [novella]
Detective Work (2015)

Anthologies Edited

Out West (1996)
Sydney Noir (2018)

True Crime

Huckstepp (2000)
Wild Life (2004)

Critical Acclaim

Dark Angel:

  • Winner 1996 Ned Kelly Award for Best First Fiction

The Dogs Are Barking:

  • Shortlisted 1999 Ned Kelly Award for Best Fiction