Australian Authors

Kim Westwood Book List


Kim Westwood developed her distinctive visual prose style while working as a theatre performer and deviser. Darkly poetic, her stories have a preoccupation with humanity’s capacity for destruction and equal instinct for survival. Kim won an Aurealis Award in 2002 for her short story ‘The Oracle’. Since then her stories have been chosen for Year’s Best anthologies in Australia and the US, and for ABC radio broadcast. She most recently won the Judges’ Prize at the Scarlet Stiletto Awards. She is the recipient of a prestigious Varuna Writers’ House Fellowship for her first novel, The Daughters of Moab (HarperVoyager, 2008). Her second novel, The Courier’s New Bicycle (HarperVoyager, 2011) made it onto the Honours List of the 2011 Tiptree Award.

Stand Alone

The Daughters of Moab (2008)
The Courier's New Bicycle (2011)

Critical Acclaim

The Courier's New Bicycle:

  • Shortlisted 2012 Davitt Award for Best Adult Fiction