Australian Authors

Wendy James Book List


Wendy James wrote OUT OF THE SILENCE as a major component of a PhD in Creative Writing at Deakin University in Victoria, Australia. She spent eighteen months researching the era and its events, and while the book has been faithful to the historical period as possible, it is ultimately an imaginary work of fiction. She lives in the regional city of Armidale NSW and is mother to four children. Out of the Silence went on to win the 2006 Ned Kelly Award for the Best First Crime Novel.

Stand Alone

Out of the Silence (2005)
The Steele Diaries (2008)
Where Have You Been? (2010)
The Mistake (2012)
The Lost Girls (2014)
The Golden Child (2018)
An Accusation (2021)
The Channel (2021)

Critical Acclaim

Out of the Silence:

  • Winner 2006 Ned Kelly Award for Best Debut Crime Fiction