About Crime Fiction HQ

A Hardboiled Crime Fiction Reading List

Hardboiled and Thriller Readers Take Note

Yes that's right, I'm talking to you because you're the one who is going to appreciate the books listed on this site.

The books featured on this site are going to generally appeal to readers who love Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch, Dennis Lehane's Kenzie and Gennaro and all of George Pelecanos' books. Equally, the despair of Dave Robicheaux, the lone wolf Jack Reacher, the wit and charm of Myron Bolitar and the startling disparate personalities of Elvis Cole and Joe Pike.

If you know exactly what I am talking about with the selection mentioned above and have also devoured all of the books mentioned above the chances are pretty good that there will be others listed inside that you haven't enjoyed yet. Basically, I go for books that are pretty similar in terms of philosophy and structure. The tougher the better, quite frankly.

I always find it exciting to stumble upon a new series to get into and there is every chance there will be something new for most people visiting here. I have compiled a mixture of old and new with some of the very well known authors having been joined by lesser known but no less talented names.

I have also included the opportunity to buy each book that has been listed on the site because, not only do I like discovering new series but I also love being able to buy them for the cheapest possible price. Full disclosure at this point, the links to the books that are listed for sale are affiliate links.

So, without further ado, here are the crime fiction authors that I have gotten a lot of enjoyment reading. I hope there is a name below that is new to you and sets you on a new path of reading pleasure.

Hardboiled Authors

Click to find their book lists

A

Megan Abbott

J.L. Abramo

Albert Ashforth

Ace Atkins

Michael Ayoob

B

Josh Bazell

Benjamin Black

Cara Black

Daniel Blake

James Carlos Blake

Lawrence Block

Jack Bludis

Todd Borg

James O. Born

C.J. Box

Steve Brewer

Ken Bruen

John Burdett

James Lee Burke

C

Chelsea Cain

Bill Cameron

Wiley Cash

Steph Cha

Paul Charles

Henry Chang

Sean Chercover

Lee Child

Jack Clark

Harlan Coben

Reed Farrell Coleman

Max Allen Collins

Edward Conlon

Michael Connelly

John Connolly

Robert Coover

Robert Crais

James Crumley

D

K.O. Dahl

Robert Daniels

Tim Davys

Daniel Depp

Bruce DeSilva

Paul Doiron

Harry Dolan

Sean Doolittle

Tony Dunbar

E

James Ellroy

Earl Emerson

Loren Estleman

Max Everhart

F

Christa Faust

Lyndsay Faye

John Florio

Tom Franklin

G

Kirbey Gann

William Campbell Gault

John Gilstrap

Joe Gores

H

James W. Hall

Timothy Hallinan

Steve Hamilton

Elizabeth Hand

David Handler

John Hart

Michael Harvey

Seth Harwood

Jonathan Hayes

Gar Anthony Haywood

William Heffernan

Chris Holm

David Housewright

Charlie Huston

I

J

Darrell James

Craig Johnson

D.E. Johnson

Daniel Judson

 

 

 

 

 

K

Stuart Kaminsky

Rob Kantner

Thomas Kaufman

Philip Kerr

William Kent Krueger

L

Richard Lange

Joe R. Lansdale

Dennis Lehane

Leena Lehtolainen

Elmore Leonard

David Levien

Ed Lin

Jeff Lindsay

Laura Lippman

Bill Loehfelm

John Lutz

M

Terence Macauley

Lou Manfredo

Craig McDonald

Ken Mercer

Denise Mina

Rick Mofina

Walter Mosley

N

Kris Nelscott

Stuart Neville

Charlie Newton

Kem Nunn

O

Tim O'Mara

P

Sara Paretsky

Robert B. Parker

T. Jefferson Parker

Brad Parks

George Pelecanos

Thomas Perry

Donald Ray Pollock

Bill Pronzini

Q

R

John Rector

J.D. Rhoades

Rick Riordan

Todd Ritter

A.E. Roman

S.J. Rozan

S

James Sallis

Theresa Schwegel

John Shannon

Karin Slaughter

Lachlan Smith

Domenic Stansberry

Richard Stark

Jason Starr

Adam Sternbergh

Wallace Stroby

P.G. Sturges

Duane Swierczynski

T

Dennis Tafoya

Stephan Talty

David Taylor

Jaden Terrell

Ingrid Thoft

Richard A. Thompson

Mark Timlin

Helene Tursten

U

Steve Ulfelder

V

Andrew Vachss

John Verdon

W

David J. Walker

Joseph Wambaugh

Jan Merete Weiss

Donald E. Westlake

Michael Wiley

John Morgan Wilson

Don Winslow

Brian Wiprud

X

Y

Z

Dave Zeltserman

Welcome crime readers to Crime Fiction HQ!

This is my appreciation for the outstanding crime novels I have read and enjoyed over the years. While the authors and books that are featured at Crime Fiction HQ may appear to be a random selection of (high quality) crime novels they are anything but.

March 2015 New Releases

In fact, the authors and books highlighted here are linked together by the fact that they all fall into my realm of reading and represent the types of books that people with similar tastes will enjoy. They are hardboiled detective novels or heart-stopping thrillers that sit on the very edge of extreme violence and graphic realism. In some cases they cross over to the other side.

It is my intention to create an exhaustive listing of as many modern hard-boiled authors and their crime novels as possible.