Australian Authors

Arthur Upfield Book List


Arthur Upfield was born in Gosport, Hampshire and was sent to Australia in 1911 by his father to give him the opportunity to seek his fortune. He worked a series of odd jobs such as a cook, a miner, cowhand, and a boundary rider for sheep stations. His most popular and enduring series featuring Napoleon "Bony" Bonapart of the Queensland Police, a half-caste aboriginal detective using the skills of both cultures to solve his cases. Upfield died in Bowral on February 13, 1964. The last Bony novel, The Lake Frome Monster (1966), was completed by J.L. Price and Dorothy Stange.

Inspector Bonaparte series

Napoleon "Bony" Bonaparte is a detective of aboriginal and European heritage working in the Darling River bush country of New South Wales

The Barrakee Mystery (1928) apa The Lure of the Bush
The Sands of Windee (1931)
Wings Above the Diamantina (1936)
Mr Jelly's Business (1937) apa Murder Down Under
Winds of Evil (1937)
The Bone Is Pointed (1938)
The Mystery of Swordfish Reef (1939)
Bushranger of the Skies (1940) apa No Footprints in the Bush
Death of a Swagman (1946)
The Devil's Steps (1946)
An Author Bites the Dust (1948)
The Mountains Have a Secret (1948)
The Bachelors of Broken Hill (1950)
The Widows of Broome (1950)
The New Shoe (1951) apa The Clue of the New Shoe
Venom House (1952)
Murder Must Wait (1953)
Death of a Lake (1954)
Cake in the Hatbox (1955) apa Sinister Stones
The Battling Prophet (1956)
The Man of Two Tribes (1956)
Bony Buys a Woman (1957) apa The Bushman Who Came Back
Bony and the Black Virgin (1959) apa The Torn Branch
Bony and the Mouse (1959) apa Journey to the Hangman
Bony and the Kelly Gang (1960) apa Valley Of Smugglers
Bony and the White Savage (1961)
The Will of the Tribe (1962)
Madman's Bend (1963) apa The Body at Madman's Bend
The Lake Frome Monster (1966) (with J L Price and Dorothy Strange)

Stand Alone

The House of Cain (1928)
The Beach of Atonement (1930)
The Great Melbourne Cup Mystery (1932)
Gripped By Drought (1932)
A Royal Abduction (1932)
Breakaway House (1987)