Australian Authors

Jock Serong Book List


Jock Serong was formerly a lawyer, he is now a features writer, and was the editor of Great Ocean Quarterly. His novels have received the Ned Kelly Award for First Fiction, the Colin Roderick Award and the inaugural Staunch Prize (UK). He is married with four children and lives in Port Fairy, Victoria.

Stand Alone

Quota (2014)
The Rules of Backyard Cricket (2016)
On the Java Ridge (2017)


Preservation (2018)
The Burning Island (2020)

Critical Acclaim


  • Winner 2015 Ned Kelly Award for Best Debut Crime Novel

The Rules of Backyard Cricket:

  • Shortlisted 2017 Ned Kelly Award for Best Crime Novel
  • Shortlisted 2018 Edgar Award for Best Paperback
  • Shortlisted 2017 Colin Roderick Award

On the Java Ridge:

  • Winner 2018 Colin Roderick Memorial Award
  • Winner 2018 Staunch Book Prize, United Kingdom
  • Shortlisted 2018 Melbourne Prize for Literature: Best Writing Award