Australian Authors

S.H. Courtier Book List


Sidney Hobson Courtier was born in Kangaroo Flat, Victoria in 1904, he was educated at the University of Melbourne. He worked for most of his life as a school teacher and principal in country Victoria and Melbourne. Courtier was the president of the Melbourne branch of International PEN, 1945-57, 1958-61. He was a keen traveller and explorer. He died in 1974.

Ambrose Mahon series

Ambrose Mahon is a policeman starting the series at the rank of Inspector and in later books had been promoted to Superintendent

The Glass Spear (1950)
One Cried Murder (1956)
Come Back to Murder (1957)
A Shroud for Unlac (1958)
Let the Man Die (1961)
A Corpse Won’t Sing (1964)
Mimic a Murderer (1964)

Digger Haig series

Haig is a police inspector 

Now Seek My Bones (1957)
Death in Dream Time (1959)
Swing High, Sweet Murder (1962)
The Ringnecker (1965)
A Corpse at Least (1966)
See Who’s Dying (1967)
No Obelisk for Emily (1970)

Stand Alone

Gently Dust the Corpse (1960)
Who Dies for Me? (1962)
Murder’s Burning (1967)
Ligny’s Lake (1971)
Some Village Borgia (1971)
Dead If I Remember (1972)
Listen to the Mocking Bird (1974)
Window in Chungking (1975)