Australian Authors

Charlotte Jay Book List


This is the pseudonym of Geraldine Halls. It was under the name Charlotte Jay that Halls wrote most of the crime fiction novels for which she is most well known. She attended Girton School (now Pembroke School) and the University of Adelaide, and worked as a shorthand typist in Australia and England, and as a court stenographer in New Guinea.

Stand Alone

The Knife Is Feminine (1951)
Beat Not The Bones (1952)
The Fugitive Eye (1953)
The Yellow Turban (1955)
The Man Who Walked Away (1958) apa The Stepfather
Arms for Adonis (1960)
A Hank of Hair (1964)
The Voice of the Crab (1974)

Writing as 'Geraldine Halls Jay'

The Feast of the Dead (1956) apa The Brink of Silence

Critical Acclaim

Beat Not the Bones:

  • Winner 1954 Edgar Award for Best Crime Fiction