Australian Authors

Christopher Koch Book List


Christopher Koch was born and educated in Tasmania. For a good deal of his life he was a broadcasting producer, working for the ABC in Sydney. He has lived and worked in London and elsewhere overseas. He has been a fulltime writer since 1972, winning international praise and a number of awards for his six previous novels, many of which are translated in a number of European countries. One of his novels, The YEAR OF LIVING DANGEROUSLY, was made into a film by Peter Weir and was nominated for an Academy Award. He has twice won the Miles Franklin award for fiction: for THE DOUBLEMAN and HIGHWAYS TO A WAR. In 1995 Koch was made an Officer of the Order of Australia for his contribution to Australian literature. He passed away in 2013.

Stand Alone

The Memory Room (2007)


The Boys in the Island (1958)
Across the Sea Wall (1965)
The Year of Living Dangerously (1978)
The Doubleman (1986)
Highways to a War (1995)
Lost Voices (2012)