Australian Authors

Garry Disher Book List


Garry Disher grew up in South Australia and now lives in Melbourne where he writes full-time. As well as crime novels he has written books of short stories, children's fiction and writer's handbooks. His novel "The Sunken Road" was nominated for the 1996 Booker Prize and he has twice won the German Crime Fiction Award. His short story anthologies have earned him short-listings for the Steele Rudd Award on two occasions. 

Wyatt series

Wyatt is a tough, hardened criminal who covers all his bases with a professional's care. This is an outstanding that lovers of hardboiled crime novels will enjoy.

Kickback (1991)
Paydirt (1992)
Deathdeal (1993)
Crosskill (1994)
Port Vila Blues (1995)
The Fallout (1997)
Wyatt (2010)
The Heat (2015)
Kill Shot (2018)

Peninsula series

A police procedural series featuring Hal Challis set on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria

The Dragon Man (1999)
Kittyhawk Down (2003)
Snapshot (2005)
Chain of Evidence (2007)
Blood Moon (2009)
Whispering Death (2011)
Signal Loss (2016)

Paul Hisrchhausen series

Hirsch is a disgraced Adelaide detective sent to a once-cop station in dry farming country south of the Flinders Ranges, in South Australia

Bitter Wash Road (2013) apa Hell to Pay
Peace (2019)
Consolation (2020)

Stand Alone

Steal Away (1987)
The Stencil Man (1988)
The Bamboo Flute (1992)
Ratface (1994)
Switch Cat (1994)
Blame the Wind (1995)
The Sunken Road (1996)
Walk Twenty, Run Twenty (1996)
Ermyntrude Takes Charge (1996)
The Apostle Bird (1998)
The Divine Wind (1999)
From Your Friend, Louis Deane (2000)
Past the Headlands (2001)
Moondyne Kate (2002)
Two-Way Cut (2004)
Eva's Angel (2004)
Play Abandoned (2011)
Her (2017)
Under the Cold Bright Lights (2017)

Critical Acclaim

Chain of Evidence:

  • Winner 2007 Ned Kelly Award for Best Novel


  • Winner 2010 Ned Kelly Award for Best Novel

The Dragon Man:

  • Finalist 2000 Ned Kelly Award for Best Novel

Kittyhawk Down:

  • Finalist 2003 Ned Kelly Award for Best Novel

Bitter Wash Road:

  • Finalist 2014 Ned Kelly Award for Best Novel

The Heat:

  • Finalist 2016 Ned Kelly Award for Best Novel

Under the Cold Bright Lights:

  • Finalist 2018 Ned Kelly Award for Best Novel

Kill Shot:

  • Finalist 2019 Ned Kelly Award for Best Novel