Australian Authors

Philip McLaren Book List


Born in the Sydney suburb of Redfern, Philip McLaren is a descendant of the Kamilaroi people, an aboriginal author and winner of the 1992 David Unaipon Award for Sweet Water - Stolen Land. Scream Black Murder was nominated for a Ned Kelly Award in 1996. He is a recipient of an Australia Arts Fellowship in recognition of his literary work. He has also conducted creative writing sessions with Aborigines in remote outback communities and schools. McLaren is also the author of a non-crime novel "There'll Be New Dreams".

Stand Alone

Sweet Water - Stolen Land (1992)
Scream Black Murder (1996)
Lightning Mine (1999)
Murder In Utopia (2007) apa Utopia

Critical Acclaim

Scream Black Murder:

  • Shortlisted 1996 Ned Kelly Award for Best Crime Novel