Australian Authors

Katherine Howell Book List


Katherine Howell was born and raised in Sydney where she worked at a variety of jobs before joining the ambulance service where she worked for fifteen years. She also studied for her BA and MPhil in writing. Frantic, featuring Detective Ella Marconi, is her first published novel although she explains that there are a few others banging around, never to be shown. These days Katherine lives on the New South Wales north coast.

Ella Marconi series

Ella Marconi, a police detective and a revolving cast of ambulance paramedics, in Sydney

Frantic (2007)
The Darkest Hour (2008)
Cold Justice (2010)
Violent Exposure (2010)
Silent Fear (2012)
Web of Deceit (2013)
Deserving Death (2014)
Tell the Truth (2015)

Critical Acclaim


  • Winner 2008 Davitt Award for Best Adult Fiction

Cold Justice:

  • Winner 2011 Davitt Award for best Adult Fiction

Web of Deceit:

  • Shortlisted 2013 Ned Kelly Award for Best Crime Novel