Australian Authors

Michelle de Kretser Book List


Michelle was born in Colombo, Sri Lanka before she emigrated to Australia with her family when she was fourteen. She taught in Montpellier, took an MA at the Sorbonne, and worked for several years as an editor. She now lives in Melbourne. Her first novel, The Rose Grower, was published in 1999. Her second novel, The Hamilton Case was shortlisted for the SA Premier's Fiction Award , the Victorian Premier's Award and was announced the Regional Winner of the 2004 Commonwealth Prize.

Stand Alone

The Hamilton Case (2003)
The Lost Dog (2007)